Dublin and Mayo dominate the 2013 Football AllStars

first_imgALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Dublin have won six AllStars in the GAA/GPA end-of-season football awards.Stephen Cluxton, Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Paul Flynn and Bernard Brogan were presented with their awards at a star-studded banquet in Croke Park this evening.Beaten finalists Mayo had four awards with Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle and Aidan O’Shea each getting the nod.In total there were seven first time winners with Colin Walshe, James O’Donoghue and Conor McManus joining the O’Carroll, O’Sullivan, Boyle and O’Shea as inaugural AllStar recipients.Colm Cooper’s eighth award now puts him one behind outright leader Pat Spillane in the number of Allstar football awards while Stephen Cluxton and Seán Cavanagh both pick up their fifth. Indeed, the half forward line of Cooper, Cavanagh and Paul Flynn can boast of an incredible combined haul of 16 awards between them.It’s also the first time since 1988 that Monaghan have two AllStars in the one year, in recognition of their season as Ulster champions.2013 GAA GPA Allstars sponsored by OpelGoalkeeper1.Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)Full backs2. Colin Walshe (Monaghan)3. Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)4. Keith Higgins (Mayo)Half backs5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)6. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)7. Colm Boyle (Mayo)Midfield8. Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)Half forwards10. Paul Flynn (Dublin)11. Colm Cooper (Kerry)12. Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)Full forwards13. James O’Donoghue (Kerry)14. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)15. Conor McManus (Monaghan)More to follow…Dessie Farrell pays tribute to Niall Donoghue at GPA AGMVIDEO: Lar Corbett’s brilliant point from a near impossible anglelast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *